Subdivision and Development Appeal Board

The Subdivision and Development Appeal Board (SDAB) is a quasi-judicial board established under the Municipal Government Act of the Province of Alberta and the City’s Subdivision Development and Appeal Board Bylaw. The SDAB hears appeals from persons affected by a decision of the Development Authority and/or the Subdivision Authority under the Land Use Bylaw and renders a decision based on the evidence presented at the hearing.

Hearings are held on an as required basis and must be held within 30 days of the receipt of an appeal.

Board membership appointments are for up to three year terms with up to two three year extensions. The SDAB is comprised of no less than three Spruce Grove residents. Councillors do not sit on the SDAB.

Who is involved?

The Committee is comprised of the following members:

  • Andrea Snow, Chair
  • Glenn Jensen, Vice-Chair
  • Jamie Koe
  • Keith Schultz
  • Liam McGrath
  • Pere Bekederemo
  • Real Van Brabant
  • Tim Ormsbee

For more information on the SDAB, call 780-962-7615 or email the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board Clerk.

Hearing agendas and decisions

October 25, 2023 - Agenda | Notice of Decision
July 6, 2023 - Agenda | Notice of Decision
February 23, 2023 - Agenda | Notice of Decision
August 24, 2022 - Agenda | Notice of Decision
January 26, 2022 - AgendaNotice of Decision
January 20, 2021 - AgendaNotice of Decision
December 16, 2020 - AgendaNotice of Decision
February 5, 2020 - AgendaNotice of Decision

How do I attend the SDAB hearings?

SDAB hearings are held in Council Chambers on the 3rd floor of City Hall. Hearings are open to the public and scheduled as required, so please check the Events Calendar for the most up to date information regarding a hearing. To access Council Chambers, enter City Hall through the main doors, take the elevator to the 3rd floor, then turn right and Council Chambers will be on the right hand side of the hallway. 

How do I speak at a SDAB hearing?

Anyone affected by the appeal has an opportunity to speak during the SDAB hearing. During the hearing proceedings, the Chair will ask members of the public to come forward to address the Board. Individuals are not required to register.