Spruce Grove City Council votes to join new Regional Transit Services Commission

March 9, 2020

Spruce Grove City Council has voted in favour of supporting the formation of a Regional Transit Services Commission (RTSC) that would investigate the feasibility of developing a single unified transit service for the Edmonton Metropolitan Region. 

This decision follows the release of an RTSC report in January that recommends combining the transit services of 13 municipalities, including the City of Spruce Grove.

“We recognize the importance of providing transit service to our community, which we have done through our commuter service to Edmonton and the recent launch of our local service within Spruce Grove,” said Spruce Grove Mayor Stuart Houston. “Moving ahead with a RTSC will allow us to explore more regional opportunities, with a goal of providing convenient, cost-effective transit service across many neighbouring municipalities.”

As of March 9, Spruce Grove joins Stony Plain, Parkland County, St. Albert, Edmonton, Beaumont, Devon, Leduc, Leduc County and Morinville in supporting the development of the RTSC.

Once all the municipalities have voted on a decision, it is anticipated the participating municipalities will make a formal application to the Government of Alberta to create the RTSC with operations starting as early as 2022.

“There is still significant work to be done, but we are looking forward to having more conversations about this with our neighbouring municipalities,” said Corey Levasseur, the City’s General Manager of Planning and Infrastructure. “This is another important step as we look for ways to provide an affordable, reliable and integrated transit service to the region.”

Initial work on creating a RTSC began in September 2017 when the City of Edmonton and the City of St. Albert signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU). In October 2018, Spruce Grove along with the other 10 municipalities, joined the MOU to look at the possibility of delivering transit service across the Edmonton Metro Region.