City accepting nominations for 2017 Awards of Excellence

City accepting nominations for 2017 Awards of Excellence

Program honours exceptional individuals and contributors to Spruce Grove

Nominations are open for the City's Awards of Excellence program, which honours outstanding individuals who have had a lasting impact on Spruce Grove.

The City of Spruce Grove established the Awards of Excellence program in 2003 to recognize achievements and contributions made to the community, and has annually accepted nominations in seven categories: athletics, arts, education, environment, innovation, community service and special citation for significant achievement.

Since its inception, inductees to the program have been remarkable individuals who have earned national or international distinction in their field or made a significant contribution to the community.

"If you know someone who meets the awards criteria, I strongly encourage you to nominate them for an Award of Excellence," said Spruce Grove Mayor Stuart Houston. "It's important that we honour and show our gratitude for those who have made a significant contribution to our community or placed Spruce Grove on the world stage."

The prestigious list of inductees includes Lesley McEwan (Athletics), Darwin Park, (Community Service), Grant Fuhr (Athletics), Cindy Barratt (Arts), Allan Shenfield (Community Service) and Dr. Locksley McGann (Innovation).

Residents are encouraged to take this opportunity to nominate an outstanding individual for the Awards of Excellence program and help honour their contributions to Spruce Grove.

Nomination packages, with complete eligibility details, are available at City Hall (315 Jespersen Ave.) and online at Nominations will be accepted until April 30, 2017, and must be submitted to City Hall in person, by email, fax or direct mail.